Wednesday, January 13, 2010

Sri Lanka won the Idea Cup Tri-Nation Tournament

The finals of the Idea Cup Tri-Nation Tournament held today 13th Jan between India and Sri Lanka at Mirpur.
Sri Lanka won the toss and invited India to bat first.

India's Squad:
V Sehwag, G Gambhir, V Kohli, Yuvraj, MS Dhoni, S Raina, R Jadeja, Harbhajan, Z Khan, Sreesanth and A Nehra.

Sri Lanka's Squad:

U Tharanga, T Dilshan,Sangakkkara, Jayawardene, Samaraweera, Kandamby, Perera, Randiv, Thushara, Welegedara and Kulasekara.

Match Result:
Sri Lanka won the Idea Cup Tri-Nation Tournament by beating the India in Finals by 4 wickets. Kulasekara was named as the man of the match for his 4 wickets. K Sangakkara was named as the man of the series.

Match Summary:
Sehwag and Gambhir headed to the field to open their innings for India but it was not a good start for the India side who lost their 5 wickets within 11 overs by just scoring 60 runs in which Sehwag added 42 runs to the board, Dhoni added 14 runs, Kohli 2 runs and Gambhir & Yuvraj went back without scoring any runs.After the stage of  losing 5 wickes for 60 runs at 10.4 overs, S Raina and R Jadeja really batted well and added 106 runs in their partnership to the board, after losing their 6th wicket everything went out of India's hand and they were not able to play the full 50 overs and ended their innings as 245 at 48.2 overs. For India Raina scored 106 runs, Sehwag 42 runs and Jadeja 38 runs. For Sri Lanka Kulasekara took 4 wickets, Welegedara 3 wickets and Randiv, Perera & Dilshan each took 1 wicket.

With an easy target of  246 Tharanga and Dilshan opened Sri Lanka's innings, but they lost their 1st wicket at the very 1st over. Then it was an big blow for India when Nehra went out with groin injury at 2.2 overs. Then Sri Lankan batsmens started to build partnership between them and Jayawardene leaded the team to Victory through this brilliant batting. They managed to attain their score at 48.3 overs by losing 6 wickets and won the Idea Cup Tri-Nation Tournament. For Sri Lanka Jayawardene scored 71*, Sangakkara 55 and Dilshan 49. For India Harbhajan took 2 wickets and Nehra, Yuvraj & Jadeja each took 1 wicket.

No comments:

Post a Comment