Sunday, January 10, 2010

Idea Cup Tri-Nation Tournament- 5th Match, India vs Sri Lanka

The 5th match of the Idea Cup Tri-Nation Tournament held today at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur between India and Sri Lanka.
Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat first.

Sri Lanka's Squad:
U Tharanga, T Dilshan,Sangakkkara, Jayawardene, Samaraweera, Kandamby, Perera, Randiv, Thushara, Welegedara and Lakmal.

India's Squad:
Karthik, Gambhir, Kohli, Yuvraj, Dhoni, Raina, Jadeja, Mishra, Z Khan, Sreesanth and Tyagi.

Match Result:
India won the match by 8 wickets at 32.4 overs. Z Khan was named as the player of the match for 3 wickets.

Match Summary:
As Sri Lanka elected to bat first, Tharanga nd Dilshan opened their innings, but they lost their 1st wicket at the very first of their innings and also Sri Lanka lost their 6 wickets before reaching 100 runs. Then Sangakkara and Randiv paired up added 59 runs between their partnership and Sangakkara went out with 68 runs and Thushara joined with Randiv and added another 59 runs to their board but they were not able to play the full 50 overs and lost all the wickets at 46.1 overs and scored 213 runs. For Sri Lanka Sangakkara scored 68 runs, Randiv 56 runs and Dilshan 33 runs. For India Z Khan and Mishra each picked up 3 wickets and Tyagi, Sreesanth and Yuvraj each picked 1 wicket.

With the target of 214 Karthik and Gambhir opened India's innings and they added 89 runs in their partnership, again it was Gambhir and Kohli who rooted India's victory. At 32.4 overs Yuvraj finished India's innings and won the match by 8 ickets. For India Kohli scored 71 runs and remained not out, Gambhir 71 runs and Karthik 48 runs. For Sri Lanka Thushara and Perera each picked 1 wicket.

No comments:

Post a Comment