Tuesday, March 09, 2010

New Zealand vs Australia 3rd ODI Match

The 3rd ODI of 5-match ODI series held today, 9th March at Seddon Park, Hamilton. 

Visitors Australia won the toss and invited the home side New Zealand to bat first.

New Zealand's Squad:
B McCullum, P Ingram, M Guptil, R Taylor, N Broom, S Styris, G Hopkins, D Vettori, S Bond, T Southee and M Mason.

Australia's Squad:
S Watson, B Haddin, R Ponting, M Hussey, C White, A Voges, R Harris, N Hauritz, J Hopes, M Johnson and D Bollinger.

Match Result:
Australia won the match by 6 wickets and leading the series as 2-1. B Haddin was named as the player of the match for his 110 runs off 121 balls with 7-4's & 5-6's.

Match Summary:
In 50 overs New Zealand managed to score only 245 runs and lost all their wickets in 46.2 overs. For New Zealand R Taylor scored 62 runs, G Hopkins scored 45 runs and S Styris scored 41 runs. For Australia R Harris & M Johnson each picked 3 wickets, S Watson 2 wickets and D Bollinger 1 wicket.

With the target of 246 runs Australia started their innings with Watson and Haddin. 151 runs partnership between Haddin and Ponting helped Australia to reach their target off 246 runs at 47.2 overs by losing 4 wickets. For Australia Haddin scored 110 runs, R Ponting 69 runs and C White 25* runs. For New Zealand T Southee, M Mason and D Vettori each picked 1 wicket.

The 4th ODI match will be played on 11th March at Auckland.

No comments:

Post a Comment