Wednesday, December 09, 2009

Sri Lanka won their 1st T20 against India

Indian's are failing to come out of their past T20 records and they are still contuning to be on the worst side and on the other side Sri Lankan's are holding their records. India's poor fielding performance cost them a loss against Sri Lankan's.

The 1st T20 match was played today at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur.
India won the toss and invited the visitors Sri Lankan's to bat first.

India's Squad :
G Gambhir, V Sehwag, MS Dhoni, Y Singh, R Sharma, S Raina, Y Pathan, A Dinda, A Nehra, P Ojha and I Sharma

Sri Lanka's Squad :
T Dilshan, S Jayasuriya, K Sangakkara, M Jayawardene, C Kapugedera, A Mathews, C Jayasinghe, M Pushpakumar, N Kulasekara, D Fernando and L Malinga.

Match Summary
Sri Lanka started their innings with T Dilshan & S Jayasuriya and they both scored 43 runs in their partnership. In 6.2 overs Sri Lanka lost their first wicket S Jayasuriya with 26 runs. Then the skipper Sangakkara showed his brilliant performance with bat and scored 78 runs off just 37 balls. 100 runs came for Sri Lanka in 11.2 overs. Sri Lankan's gave good show and scored 215 runs in 20 overs by losing 5 wickets. For Sri Lanka Sangakkara scored 78, Dilshan 34, Kapugedera 47, Jayasuriya 26. For India Nehra, Dinda, Pathan and R Sharma each took 1 wicket.

Then with the target of 216 India started their chasing, after losing Sehwag's wicket too early Gmbhir batted very well and got his 50 off just 19 balls and he scored 55 runs off 26 balls. Other batsmen's failed to do their job and India were able score only 186 runs in 20 overs by losing 9 wickets. For India Gambhir scored 55, Sehwag 26, Raina 21, Dinda 19, Nehra 22. For Sri Lanka Mathews & Jayasuriya each took 2 wickets, Kulasekara, Pushpakumar & Dilshan each took 1 wicket.

The player of the match award was given to K Sangakkara.
The Second match will be played on 12th Dec at Mohali.

No comments:

Post a Comment