Saturday, December 12, 2009

India Drawn the T20I Series against Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka won the 1st T20I match against India by 30 runs on Dec 9th and led the series 1-0. The 2nd T20I match between India and Sri Lanka was played today in Mohali, Chandigarh.
Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat first.

India's Squad :
G Gambhir, V Sehwag, MS Dhoni, Y Singh, S Raina, D Karthik, Y Pathan, R Jadeja, I Sharma, A Nehra, and S Tyagi. For there was three changes in the Playing XI D Karthik replaced R Sharma, R Jadeja replaced P Ojha and S Tyagi replaced A Dinda.

Sri Lanka's Squad :
T Dilshan, S Jayasuriya, K Sangakkara, M Jayawardene, C Kapugedera, A Mathews, C Jayasinghe, K Weeraratne, N Kulasekara, D Fernando and L Malinga. In Sri Lankan side there was only one change K Weeraratne replaced M Pushpakumar.

Match Summary
India's poor fielding performance in the 1st match caused them a loss against Sri Lanka and in the today's match it continued and there was no any improvement in the fielding department, which allowed the Sri Lankans to score 206 runs in 20 overs. There was lot of misfieldings and many dropped chances from Indian side.

Sri Lanka started their innings with T Dilshan and S Jayasuriya, but the dangerous man T Dilshan went out in the second over by I Sharma with just 1 run. Then the skipper Sangakkara joined with Jayasuriya, it was the same kind of show from the skipper as of the previous match, he scored 59 runs with 8-4's & 2-6's. With good batting performance of Jayasinghe and A Mathews Sri Lanka were able to score 206 runs by losing 7 wickets. For Sri Lanka Jayasuriya scored 31 runs, Sangakkara 59, Jayasinghe 38, A Mathews 26* and Kulasekara 10*. India added 24 extras to the Sri Lanka's score. For India Y Singh took 3 wickets,I Sharma took 2 wickets and Y Pathan 1 wicket.

With the target of 207 India started their innings with G Gambhir and V Sehwag, the opening partnership added 58 runs. It was a good show from the Indian batsman's by which they were able to score 211 runs in 19.1 overs with 6 wickets remaining in hand. Sehwag and Dhoni added 50 runs and then Dhoni paired up with Yuvraj and they scored 80 runs in 36 balls which made their winning path more easier and India won the match by 6 wickets with Yuvraj remined not out with 60 runs. For India Sehwag scored 64 runs( 7-4's, 3-6's), Yuvraj 60* runs(3-4's, 5-6's) and Dhoni 46(3-4's, 2-6's). For Sri Lanka Malinga and Fernando each took 1 wicket.

All of whole it was a single man show from the birthday baby Yuvraj who scored 60 runs and bagged 3 wickets.

Player of the match award was given to Yuvraj

Player of the series award was given to Sangakkara.
The 2 match T20I series was drawn as 1-1.

No comments:

Post a Comment