Monday, August 31, 2009


The Defending Champions India retains their Nehru Cup 2009 title by defeating Syria. The finals of Nehru Cup held today at Ambedkar Stadium, New Delhi between India and Syria in which India defeated Syria in a tie breaker as 6-5 and retained the title. After 90 minutes play the match ended up with 1-1 tie and the match went for tie breaker in which Sunil Chhetri, Climax Lawrence, Steven Dias, Abdul Razak, Surkumar Singh and Anwar Ali scored for India. The title winners India received a price money of US $40,000 and the runners up Syria received US $20,000.

No comments:

Post a Comment